The Alhambra, Granada part 1

Back in February 2009, I went to Spain.. it was a fabulous trip! Having gone to the UK right after, I got swept up in the British world and by the time I started this blog, it had been many months since that trip. So here I am, beginning to share my photos from this fortuitous exploration…

I went with lifelong friend Emily Guerry (We met in Kindergarden) and our Moms. My mom just this week told me a story about chaperoning a school field trip to a farm on the coast somewhere in first or second grade. She’d had tickets to an opera rehearsal she would have to miss and, having become smitten with Emily’s younger sister Sally, my mom offered the tickets to Emily’s mom, Cindy, and Sally. Touched by the gesture, they’ve been fast friends since.

This trip was born, essentially, out of love for and pursuit of art, and that is the theme that followed us throughout. The first spark was that Cindy, a brilliant photography curator, was to go check on a Walker Evans exhibit she had worked to produce from one of her clients collections, showing in Madrid. She invited my mom, both an artist and art enthusiast herself, along as a travel buddy. Soon after “the daughters,” self-admitted travel-lovers (junkies), realized they’d both be in the UK and thus easy traveling distance to Spain. We quickly invited ourselves/were invited along. Our paths all continued to weave together in a harmonious dance… One of my favorite photographers is Walker Evans and this was a rare chance to see some of his now privately-owned works… Emily had some paintings and architecture to see that fit nicely into the motif of her Art History PhD… we all were savoring the idea of perusing the great museums of Madrid, finding authentic fiery flamenco of Spain, sizing up the Alhambra and southern streets of Grenada, and Emily and I yearned to see a few more cities of the south..

And let me tell you, touring around anywhere with a PhD candidate as knowledgeable and enraptured by art as Emily is purely a delight unlike any other! I have a hard time not wanting her in my pocket with me everywhere I go, both for her superb company and her academic catalog of a brain!! 😉

Thusly, come February last year I whisked away to wonder in Madrid, Granada, Cordoba, and Sevilla. My travels oscillated from quad to solo searches, and often, surprise surprise, I had my camera in hand. Now “seasoned blogger,” I dust off and begin to present to you some of my photographic impressions of Spain..  ¡Disfrute de!

(click photographs to enlarge/for hi-q)

About jordangordon

Ashley Jordan Gordon is a freelance photographer currently based out of San Francisco, California. Ashley works in Portrait and Editorial photography, as well as being trained and still working in Documentary and Fine Art. Some of Gordon's more notable accomplishments include being exhibited in the UK's National Portrait Gallery for the Photographic Portrait Prize, and being featured on National Geographic. She graduated from University of California Santa Cruz with a degree in Environmental Studies and an emphasis in Documentary Photography in 2007. She is available for assignment, either domestic or abroad. Website: http://www.ashleyjordangordon.com/ All original images and words on this website are © copyrighted and sole property of Ashley Jordan Gordon –these images shall not be used for any reason nor shall they be reproduced without the expressed consent of Ashley Jordan Gordon
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

